top of page
Search
  • sonalidoshi6

HOSA 2020

If things were all normal and Covid-19 free I would have spent the end of July in Houston, Texas, that was were HOSA 2020 was supposed to take place. HOSA is an international competition where schools from all over the world compete in various healthcare related events. My event was Biomedical Debate which was a group event I was participating in with some of my closest friends. Our job was to research as much as we could about Vaccines including the pros, cons, and find solid evidence. We then took a written exam about the subject and finished the competition off with a formal debate on the subject. I enjoyed the experience because debating was not something I had done before and I love being able to argue about a topic with sufficient evidence. One of my team members had been a debater in high school so it was also interesting to see the style and vocabulary she used to debate. This organization allowed me to meet so many other individuals who want to pursue healthcare and I learned about so many unique events such as "Medical Terminology" and "Lab Techniques". This next year I would like to try out a different event so I can build my knowledge.


My fingers are crossed that everything is back to normal by Summer 2021. This year HOSA will be taking place in Orlando, Florida and I would love to go and experience it in-person. I've been encouraging my friends to also become a part of the organization so we can experience the Magic in Orlando together!




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Refuge Health Literacy 2020 - Self Designed

This past year, Adam and I piloted the health literacy project at our first Cincinnati Public School. Our goal was to give refugee students a foundational understanding of the many intricacies of the

SURF 2020

My SURF experience this year was unlike any other. Instead of making the 40 minute commute from Mason to Cincinnati every morning, I completed the whole program from the comfort of my bed. Although I

RAMP 2020

Prior to learning about RAMP I never imagined it would be possible for me to get involved with research so early. Countless upperclassmen had told me I would have to cold email nearly 100s of research

bottom of page